Incredible Team – a Season of Firsts


I have spent the better part of the last four months coaching (along side co-coach Fordell) a recreational 4th grade girls basketball team in my community.  As many of you know, coaching youth or being involved in their development is one of the most rewarding experiences you can have in your life.

Coaching is something I have done for a long time and I have certainly experienced a lot over the years.  I have tried to put myself in “learning” situations and some just happen naturally.  I love the uncertainty of it all.  You never know how your team will perform over the course of a season.  How will they react to adversity?  How will they handle the successes? 

I particularly love the “firsts” — completely new experiences or different takes on old ones.  This season has been a season of firsts.  First, the talent level on this year’s team is amazing — the depth of talent outpaces any team I have ever coached before.  Their accomplishments this year are unparallelled.  Check out some of the stats below:

> They averaged 23.86 points per game while holding our opponents to an average of 9.29 ppg

> They averaged 28 rebounds per game

> They averaged 18 steals per game

I have two, almost three players that are averaging more points per game then what we allow our opponents to score. 

I cannot recall another time when I have had a team that performed at this level.  And, an added bonus — these kids are 100 times better people then they are athletes.  I have truly been blessed. 

So, as we started our final practice last night, I was not expecting another first.  I went in with the idea of letting the girls choose their favorite drills from across the season.  Upon completion of our warm ups, I asked them what they wanted to do?

Their reply?

“We want to run ‘hawks’!”  (a.k.a. suicides, ladders etc…).  Needless to say, not how I expected them to answer.  Thanks ladies for yet another first.  But, thank you even more for working so hard and trusting in me as your coach and for believing in this team and making it great.

1-2-3-GO TROJAN Pickles!!

About rheadmore

I spend my working day at a great higher education institution by the name of Michigan State University. I try to spend a majority of my free time coaching youth sports, baseball and basketball are my favorites. This blog is dedicated to enhancing youth coaching and helping youth become successful and well contributing members of society. This philosophy was passed on to me by my father who always stressed leaving something better then the way you found it. I have been trying to live by those words for most of my adult life. Thanks for checking out my blog.
This entry was posted in Youth Sports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

